Canberra Dreaming

Standard

A two day Sojourn down to Canberra last week by car. Goulbourn, Rosie’s Cafe is the place for a stop. great Coffee and Burger. not forgetting some interesting sculptures. Canberra, stayed two nights at a good friends place. Fantastic vege- dinner, great bottle of red. great to catch up and share stories of travel adventures etc etc.  sleep came easy,

A mad charg around Canberra, first up I visited the National Library  to get a copy of a little booklet that the Lachland Vintage Village. just outside Forbs produced to advertise this mok-up Old Australia village. this happened back in the mid 1970s.  I was part of the original advertising stuff and yes appeared in the booklet as the infomous bushranger Ben Hall….yep, I started early. the agency that hired us for a week of onset- shoots, in the end did not pay us….bloody crooks. but lots of fun and good for the CV….Part of my 15 minutes. Sad to say this Old town venture only lasted a couple of years then went belly up. after copying the booklet we ventured up to the National Gallery. the walk there was lined with very beautiful public sculptures both modern and some lovely aboriginal pieces that I had not seen before on my various Sojourns to our Capital. I just love the National Gallery. we went straight to the sculpture garden. I never tire of taking lots of Photo’s here. A world of its own. a real Place of just opening yourself to this rich state of Art. and Enjoying it. then inside the gallery. here i encountered a visual feast of Golden Oldies and Eastern Delights…this place never lets me down. ( I am not going to give indepth details here, go see and enjoy for yourself ).

After the gallery we rushed of in Canberra’s Peak hour traffic…..yes we got lost, my Bad driving and our IPhone guidance system had a little melt-down…MMMMmmm…! but we eventually got to our destination the Hotel-Hotel. very swish….I Like. we met Pete there to go and see his son Nelson’s graduation.he did a Ba in Media.  and yes you guessed.  it was in Parliament house. The ceremony was quick, to the Point. uplifting and in reality a Big thanks and goodby from the University that gave them the chance to be qualified at something more then a labourer…though I wonder where all these bright young graduates will be working in the years ahead….hoping they will be in places they love.  lots of great cheer, Photos then off to a Italian restaurant close to the Hotel Hotel….very expensive I thought for what we got, service 1 out of 10. rudeness 10 out of 10. then back to the Hotel -Hotel. I enjoyed a very nice Art book in their library…very trendy place….I Like. the book was by   Esthen Tielemans . titled  New Scenes.  it was about an art exhibition in the  Museum Van Bommel Van Dan Venlo…I think ..Holland   or  Germany…the book-catalogue was on the Sculptural Art that I would love to do…very geometrical, flat 2-3d, mono colours and big and bold. this sort of sculpture I would love to do. but where to make it…?…where to show it here in OZ Land…?…then what to do with it if it does not sell…?…Life as it is,  as I read this lovely book…half in German—half in English…the overwhelming state engulfted me……I just wanner go right now to Berlin Germany and set my self up as an Outsider sculpture putting this type of lovely work together for say 3 months.just a total ” Art-OUT “…..then Reality came…we need to drive back to our home-stay in the dark with a broken IPhone guiding us.Fuc……We made it.

Last day, I managed to get a nice bundle of Cacti-suclent cuttings out of the lovely rambling garden surrounding our house. hope they survive and take in their new location in Balmain..? after a late breakfast we went to the National Arboretum, some 20 minutes drive away. Wow its Big and New..all the plants, gardens landscapings are very recent. but wow its gonna look Great in a few years. the only maturity in the place was the very lovely National Bonsai and Penjing collection….very yummy. in its own little wall enclosed space..took lots of lovely tree photos here, next was the Labyrinth garden..I just love Labyrinth’s, the Sojourn from self to Self…..this sacred space is based on the medival pattern inspired by Notre-Dame Chartres Cathedral’s Labyrinth in Chartres in France…very nice. lucky me I also had the pleasure a couple of years back on a visit to France to walk this original 8th century one in Chartres. Wow.  Lots of Photo’s here in this place….a little on the weird but sacred side. this place is….worth a visit, I will return.

Then a long non stop 3 & half drive back to Sydney town…arrived in Pennant Hills 8-30pm totally RS. enjoy a few Photos.

Mjw.  21/4/17

 

 

Leave a Reply

