”Spiti to Naggar” and back to OZ Land.

Standard

A catch up, back in Sydney. Spiti valley with its snow clad Mountains, beautiful old Buddhist monasteries. not forgetting the roughtest dirt roads in the bloody World. our poor old Delhi based driver had lots of nervous moments driving through both flooded creeks and deep snow drifts. not forgetting huge potholes all over the road. he drove with the heart of a bloody rally driver. nothing put him off. we drove almost no-stop from Kalpa in the Spiti valley across to Manali a huge feat considering the terrain that we had to traverse. we did it in record time 12 hrs with a few stops along the way for a few photo stops. Kunza-pass about 5400mtrs. Kye monastery and of cause the sacred beautiful landscape. The Rotang-pass covered in snow and Indian tourists happly snapping Selfies. O Dear. over the pass down to Manali should have only taken an hour or two…..5hrs later, Fuc……..! eventually we got into Manali. too my suprise it was wall to wall with indian tourists. reminded me of a visit to the Royal Easter show when I was about 5. insane. Manali was just a stopover on our way to Naggar 1hr away. we did enjoy some wonderful yummy food, beer, red wine and great live music at a trendy Cafe-restaurant called Johnstons Cafe. If your up Manali way check it out. great place. beware of the aging Indian rocker…..he loved to sing  bad American country and western songs…..lovely man. pity of his choice of music…two nights here then to Naggar. 

Naggar at an elevation of just over 2000mtrs. is my favorite destination in the Kullu valley. we stayed at the very comfortaly, very friendly. Alliance guest house for two nights where our host, Gilbert and his daughter Eva could not do enough for us. home away from home for me. Maryanne and Andrew also felt as I did regarding our stay at Alliance. I had my first tast of this place back in 2011 when I stayed here for about 10 days as I had a solo Photo installation at the nearby Roerich Gallery.

We did visit the Roerich Gallery. I decided to talk 3 of my little Wandjina figures hoping to place them in places of interest around the centre and other areas of interest as we wandered around the local area. first up the gallery. Maryanne bought a lovely little watercolour done by a local artist. here I bumped into Baba, who was the cultural officer back in 2011 when I had my solo show here. great to see him again. then to the centre. to view the Roerich collection on display there. I wondered around the back of the centre to meditate at the lovely little Temonos with its sacred collection of  ancient sculptures of the Kullu valleys Dieties. collected by Roerich way back at the turn of the century. they are just beautiful. love this sacred Temonos with its Dieties under a huge Himalayan Cedar tree. ( Cedar trees correspond to the celestial realm) Lucky me, would you believe my luck…the Old Priest who looks after this sacred Temonos was just starting his daily Puja. this puja I have been told, has been performed every day here since the site was created by Roerich back at the turn of the century….about 90 years. so lots of Baraka flowing around for those in need. The Old Priest recognised me from back in 2011. as I did attend many of his sacred Puja’s. I just so happened to have a lovely colour copy of Portraid that I took of him back in 2011. I gave this to him. he was thrilled. then displayed it on or as part of the alter-pieces. he then beckoned me to stand my 3 little Wandjina totems in this magic Temenos too…..Wow. this to me was a dream come true…Representaions of Divine states on an Altar with celestial states around them. under a sacred cedar tree. this to me was a real heavenly state. To Sojourn from state to state with protection from higher Life.

Our drive from Naggar to Delhi took about 12hrs……thought it would never End. our last night in India was at the wonderful World Buddhist centre in Delhi. Lama Tashi greeted us with joy. this Guy OI love. the Wandjinas enjoyed wandering around the temple area on the ground floor for

a Photo shoot. then to the International airport for our Air India flight back to Sydney. lots of excess baggage fees for me…Fuc…..Will I ever learn…? we arrived. Maryanne. Andrew and myself a lot closer in both friendship and the sharing of work terms and ideas……this was a real Sojourn of spiritual  sharing for all three of us. loved it. and I am sure all sorts of “stuff” will come forth out of it. As for where do I go now with the Wandjina totems….? they have a Life of their own……I will just observe. take notes and Enjoy their celestial Sojourn.   ( A few Photos. enjoy )

M J Wright. 6/7/17

Leave a Reply

